Friday 6 August 2021

EmiratesGBC awards to honour zero building design

DUBAI, May 22, 2019

Emirates Green Building Council (EmiratesGBC) has announced an additional category for its Mena Green Building Awards 2019 wherein it will recognise Zero Building or Zero Building Design of Year to integrate regional and global priorities in advancing net zero in the built environment.

An independent forum aimed at conserving the environment by strengthening and promoting green building practices, EmiratesGBC has already launched submissions for the awards.

The annual Mena Green Building Awards identify, recognise, and highlight organisations for innovative and outstanding sustainable building principles and practices.

They are designed to facilitate a greater understanding of the contributions from the construction sector to sustainable development and lead to the exchange of ideas and good practice in sustainability in the Mena region.

Chairman Saeed Al Abbar said: "Each year we aim to reflect the changes and trends in the sustainable built environment within the Mena Green Building Awards."

"Including the Zero Building and Zero Building Design of the Year awards category is evidence of the progression the industry is making toward a net zero future and creates a push toward accelerating the implementation of net zero principles in the industry."

These awards are officially endorsed by the World Green Building Council and are organised in partnership with Jordan Green Building Council, Lebanon Green Building Council, Palestine Green Building Council, Egypt Green Building Council, Kuwait Green Building Council, and Morocco Green Building Council. Deadline for professional submissions is July 27.

"Our vision is to see net zero buildings become a norm in sustainable development by inspiring and encouraging stakeholders to shift their perceptions and make bold moves to be part of the change," noted Al Abbar.

"We are facing unprecedented challenges as the threats from climate change keep mounting, but we have the technologies and innovative mindsets to push back and showcase that we as a region can contribute to the global movement for sustainability," he added.

The honours will be presented in 20 professional categories in addition to the Dr Owainati Student Excellence Award which offers the potential of a cash prize, specifically awarded to a student from a recognised university in the UAE who has conducted exceptional research work in a subject related to green buildings in the Middle East.

The awards will be audited by KPMG to ensure the highest standards of governance and transparency.

Covering new buildings and retrofits as well as green products and services, the 20 professional award categories are: Green Building of the Year in six sub-categories: Commercial, Hotel, School, Residential, Public Building and Healthcare Building; Sustainable Building Design of the Year; Sustainable Urban/Community Development Design of the Year; Facility Management Organisation of the Year; Contractor of the Year; Developer of the Year: Green Building Material/Product: Energy Management, Indoor Air Quality, Conventional Construction Materials & Water Management; Green Building Research Award; Retrofit Project of the Year; Best Operations & Maintenance (existing buildings); Training Initiative of the Year; and Zero Building / Zero Building Design of the Year, said the statement.

These awards are open to all organisations including public and private sector enterprises, associations, consultants, and practitioners who can clearly demonstrate innovation and a high level of excellence in sustainable principles and practices in the Mena region, it added.-TradeArabia News Service


More Construction & Real Estate Stories

calendarCalendar of Events